Gift Ogieva
7 min readMay 11, 2023

A battle of fate that rises with the help of one man…

Photo by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

‘Simon please don’t go!’. Ella shouted from the sitting room.

Simon turned back and saw Ella’s eyes soaked in tears. She sat still on the chair, her legs were completely numb.

‘Try to stop me if you can.’ Simon said knowing the situation Ella was in.

‘You know I can’t walk, why are you doing this to me,' tears rolled down from her eyes. ‘I said I loved you, is it a crime to love me back, or is it because I’m crippled.’

‘Yes, it is. My parents can’t watch me marry a girl that can’t walk. And I…I can’t be with someone who will be a liability to me.’

‘Please tell me you don’t mean any of those words you just said.’

‘Ella If you were in my shoes i believe you would understand what I’m saying.’

‘I don’t understand why, you always said you loved me, why…why did you change. If I was the problem I would understand, but this is just beyond you. It’s like your mind was poisoned against me.’

‘Should I tell you a secret?’ Simon sneered.

‘What secret?’Ella asked, looking more inquisitive.

‘It wasn’t love, it was the greed for power and money. I only said all those so that you parents can love me and pass down all the buildings they own to me.’

Photo by Navid Sohrabi on Unsplash

‘How could you?’ Ella whimpered. She was pained and heartbroken.

‘Now look at all the money your parents has spent on you, even when you can never be healed, they keep trying and wasting all their money on you.’

‘How could you?’ Ella wailed.

‘I have nothing to say to you. Goodbye. And i hope you find the happiness you are looking for.’ Simon walked out, slamming the door so hard.

No one has ever loved her and taken her for been crippled until she met Simon in a club she went with her friend, Monica.

Her friend took her to a club to have fun, but she was unfortunate. Everyone sneered at her.

‘What is she doing here, doesn’t she know her place?’ A girl at the club said.

‘Come on girl, I wanna see you dance with those wheels.’ A guy said.

‘Don’t mind them they are all drunk.’ Monica said as she ran towards her. ‘Here you go, I got you a punch non-alcoholic drink, it will make you feel better.’

‘I want alcohol….I also want to get drunk like them.’ Ella said aggressively, her eyes were soaked with tears. There were alot she was trying to hold back, one of it was her emotions.

‘Ella, you know you can’t drink alcohol.’

‘Why…Because I’m cripple..?

‘Of course not.’ Monica said trying to hold her emotions back. ‘Your alcohol tolerance is low, so I won’t let you drink. Besides, your mum will be soo worried if she sees you drunk.’

‘I see….all of it comes down to me being crippled. Unlike you who live all by yourself, a 25 year old crippled girl like me has to live under the maintenance of my mother. I can’t even do things on my own.’

‘Ella, don’t day such a---'
‘I feel worst when you’re with me, do you know that? I feel so pathetic right not.’ Ella bawled. ‘I can’t do anything when I’m with you, I even become a source of embarrassment to you. Why! Why do everyone trys to clean up my mess everytime, and I just have to sit still because of my condition.’

The silence was rare just to think of the fact that they were in a club.

Ella was able to pull her wheel chair away from Monica. She drove herself around in thoughts, and for the first time, Monica didn’t go after her.

“Yeah…. sometimes it best she left alone, maybe she needs some air". Monica mumbled.

Ella who was still clouded with thoughts, moved to an enclosed space, as she stumbled upon a guy.

“Hi pretty. Do you wanna dance?”the guy said.

Ella who was still stuck in her thoughts, swept pass him like nonchalantly.

‘Wait a minute, who do you think you are that you are ignoring me. You crippled bitch.’

It was alot louder and clearer than before. It was something she always heard. As long as her life was concerned, she will have to hear it because she was still crippled. She made a u-turn, towards the direction of where she and Monica had an argument.

‘Your wheels aren’t so fast young lady’. He held her wheel chair at the handle, instilling fear in her with his face. He tried to touch her body.

What are you doing..? Don’t you know this is sexual harassment. Ella’s voice sounded faint, as though she was about to die. She had the thought again. Wishing that the ground should open and swallow her. She has always being in situations like that, and she always thought of how worst things were getting for her, but this is actually the most difficult situation she has ever found herself in.

She closed her eyes and tried to hold back her tears. She had no strength in her.

‘Did you already give up’, he said as he made a move towards the under of her blouse.

‘Shouldn’t you go to a less crowded place, to do that. At least book an hotel, it much more respectful and wise as a gentleman.’ A young guy walked in he seemed nonchalant despite the scene he was in.

Ella who was still instilled with fear raised her head up, as she open her eyes to look at him. She stared with her eyes soaked in tears.

Is he his accomplice…..Are they working together..?Thoughts flew through her mind.

‘Who are you to decide how I have my fun. Tell me who are you….you ordinary waiter.’

‘You know…i find it really annoying whenever I see men like you. Honestly I wish I wouldn’t see more of this, but it just something I can’t avoid since I have to work here.’ He said as he made a step towards him.’

‘And what do you want to do about that right now?’

‘I want to hit you to clear my head’.
‘You can’t do that’.

‘Of course I can.’

‘Don’t you know you’ll get fired for hitting a customer?’
‘I don’t care’. He said as he move swiftly toward him. He swept his hand toward his cheeked as he smacked him to the floor. The man lied flat on him back. He sat on him and started punching him.

Ella who was so weak to say a word, on seeing this, she screamed.

‘Ha..!’. She was so loud that people in the main hall heard her although the music was turned on.

A lot of people rushed in to see what was happening. As presumed, the punching scene was stilled displayed for people to watch. He was still on him, and was not ready to stop until a man dragged him from the floor.

‘Simon what are you doing. How dare you beat up a customer.’

‘His name is Simon, and he is actually a waiter at the club’. Ella mumbled. ‘He wasn’t actually a bad person, that means he…he….he saved me.’

‘Ella…!!’ Monica rushed, she touched her body hastily as if she was looking for something. ‘Are you okay, are you hurt anywhere?.’

‘Monica’.

‘Yes what is it, tell me please’.

‘Someone actually saved me’. She said as tears dropped down her cheek. ‘I have being in so many crazy and crappy situations without finding a way to come out of it, some of it even ends up being my nightmare, but this time someone actually saved me. I thought it was over, but I was…I was actually rescued.’

Ella found herself a reason to live. If someone could have saved her, then it is a warning for her not to give up on life.

After the incident, Simon got fired, he had no place to sleep, he had no home because he slept at the club while he was working there. After some weeks, Ella came to the club one afternoon to look for him, but she was told that he got fired after the incident because he hit a customer.

He saved her, yet he was being punished. She vowed in her heart that she would find him no matter what and thank him for helping her even when he knew he would get fired, and also to thank him for helping her get over her trauma of commiting suicide.

After a year they found each other and helped each other grow. Simon helped Ella believe in herself, and Ella helped Simon achieve his goals by using her family wealth.

Now that Simon is gone, what will Ella do.?

Simon was the main reason Ella didn’t take her life. Now that he is no longer in her life, she feels deserted and empty.

Will Ella give up or continue to live without Simon in her life?

Watch out for the next part as Ella determine her fate.

Gift Ogieva

A content/ creative writer, and copywriter. Experienced in SEO and keyword research. Does in-depth research and able to think outside the box. An English Major.